//Staff & Trustees
Staff & Trustees2018-08-09T15:20:34+00:00

Our Trustees

Ranj Parmar


Michael Caines


Julia Caines


Richard Djan-Krofa


Catherine Bell


Our Staff

Austin Willett

Gill Priest

Jo Aurora

Lauren McMillan

Genise Turnbull

Greg Hollingworth

Caroline Saunders

Geoff Render

We also have over 150 volunteers around the country who assist with our groups, fundraising and help us to deliver our services. If you would like to find out about volunteering opportunities in your area, email: info@differentstrokes.co.uk or ring 01908 317618 or 0345 130 7172.

‘Volunteer of the Year’ Awards

Different Strokes provides support for younger stroke survivors by younger stroke survivors and couldn’t do this without the help of many volunteers around the country.  Peter Shave, a longstanding and loyal volunteer at Different Strokes Head Office, passed away suddenly in December 2012.

In memory of Peter and to celebrate his life, and in particular his post-stroke achievements and voluntary work, Different Strokes launched the Peter Shave Volunteer of the Year award in 2013. If you’d like to nominate a volunteer from your local Different Strokes group, an amazing fundraiser, or perhaps a member of the Different Strokes team who has helped or supported you please get in touch: info@differentstrokes.co.uk or ring 01908 317618 or 0345 130 7172.

The winner will be chosen by staff at Different Strokes Head Office.  They will be looking for a younger stroke survivor who displays Peter’s qualities of reliability, determination in striving to overcome the effects of his stroke, adaptability, enthusiasm, professionalism, kindness and integrity.  Most of all the winner will be making a difference to other younger stroke survivors.

Previous winners of the Peter Shave award:

2016: Olga Mathews – in recognition of her amazing work as Volunteer Facebook Administrator for the Different Strokes Facebook support group

2014: Mala Fernando – Mala was the coordinator of Different Strokes’ Central London group until her untimely death in 2014 and it is particularly poignant that she is also no longer with us.

2013: Steve George – Steve has been coordinator of the London East group since 1997.

Other award winners:

2016: Tom Jenkins – received the Different Strokes Fundraising Volunteer of the Year award. sponsored by Irwin Mitchell Solicitors.

2016: Jim Currie – Irwin Mitchell Unsung Hero Volunteer 2016 in recognition of his untiring work in setting up and running the London South East group, representing Different Strokes at the UK Stroke Forum and for his fundraising efforts.